04 April 2016

Scientific committees: new members appointed

The Commission has appointed the members of its Scientific Committees that provide independent scientific advice related to health, the environment and emerging risks, to inform EU policy making. These members are highly qualified independent experts covering a wide range of disciplines. They have been selected by an evaluation panel, and appointed in their personal capacity to act independently in the public interest. There are 34 members in total – 17 for each committee. Their names can be found here.
The two new committees for the term 2016-2021 are the Scientific Committee on Consumer Safety (SCCS) and the Scientific Committee on Health, Environmental and Emerging risks (SCHEER). The SCHEER is the result of a merger of two former committees: the Scientific Committee on Health and Environmental risks (SCHER) and on Emerging and Newly Identified Risks (SCENIHR).The new organisation aims to strengthen synergies between health and environmental disciplines to provide more robust risk assessments.
The first meeting of the new Committees is planned for 28 and 29 April 2016 and will take place in Luxembourg.

No comments:

Post a Comment

CONTACTO · Aviso Legal · Política de Privacidad · Política de Cookies

Copyright © Noticia de Salud